Council Rock High School North

Success for every student, every day

C.A.R.E.S.

(Children At Risk in an Educational System)

Council Rock High School North

What is the CARES Program?  

In Pennsylvania, every middle and high school has a Student Assistance Program (SAP). A SAP team, made up of school and community agency staff, is a group of individuals formed to assist you in accessing school and community services. Council Rock SAP teams are called CARES teams (Children at Risk in the Educational System).

How Does My Child Become Involved in the Program?

Students come to the CARES team in different ways. There are a number of ways that a student might be referred for CARES intervention. For example, any school staff member, a student’s friend or family member can let the CARES team know that they are worried about someone. The students themselves can even go directly to the CARES team to ask for help. However, the CARES team will not become involved unless we receive parent consent.

CR North’s CARES team will help you find services and assistance within the school and, if needed, the community. We do not diagnose, treat, or refer your child for treatment. Rather, we will provide you with information; you make choices. Remember, you are part of our team. Our goal is to facilitate your child’s success in school.

What If Someone Has Already Referred My Child to the Program?

First, know that your child was referred because someone is concerned about observable changes they are seeing in your child. Perhaps a teacher or friend has noticed changes in behavior and habits that you may or may not have notice at home. Your observations of your child at home are important.

The CARES team will request that you sign a permission form for your child to become involved in the program. Once you sign, the CARES team will begin to work with you and your child. If you feel you need more information before making a decision, please let your CARES team know. If you do not sign the permission form, the CARES team will not become involved. Participation is voluntary.

What Happens After I Give My Permission?

There are several steps that the team will take after you sign the permission form:

1. The CARES team will gather specific information about your child’s performance in school from all school staff who have contact with your child. A CARES member will also talk with you either in person or over the phone about your observations, your child’s strengths, and your concerns.
2. Together, you and the CARES team will develop a plan of action to help your child achieve success in school. The plan might include services and activities in school and/or services from a community agency. If necessary, the CARES team will talk with you about services in the community and give you information on how to contact others who may be able to assist.

3. The CARES team will continue to work with you and support your child. They will stay in touch with you to talk about your child’s progress and success in school. Your continued involvement is very important.

Contacting Your School’s CARES Program

If you feel that your child may need help, call your child’s school and ask to speak with a member of the CARES team.

 

CARES Coordinator

Patty Wargo

215-944-1352

pwargo@crsd.org

Psychologist:

Tom Barnes

215-944-1321

tbarnes@crsd.org

Social Worker:

Stephanie Warshaw

215-944-1351

swarshaw@crsd.org

Counselors:

Joe DeFrancesco

215-944-1322

jdefrancesco@crsd.org

Abby Rogers

215-944-1320

arogers@crsd.org

Teachers:

Sarah Huskin

215-944-1300

shuskin@crsd.org

Nurses:

Teri Lavin

215-944-1332

tlavin@crsd.org

Julie Moore

215-944-1331

jmoore@crsd.org

Administrator Liaison:

Nate Scott

215-944-1306

nscott@crsd.org

CARES Secretary:

Ann Grace

215-944-1328

agrace@crsd.org

Southeast Council Liaison:

Marci Kelly

215-230-8218

mkelly@crsd.org

 
 
CLOSE