•  CARES

    What is the CARES Program? 

    In Pennsylvania, every middle and high school and some elementary schools have a Student Assistance Program (SAP).  A SAP team, made up of school and community agency staff, is here to help you access school and community services.  Council Rock SAP teams are called CARES teams (Children at Risk in the Educational System).

    Do You See Your Child Showing Any of These Behaviors?

    • Withdrawing from family, friends and/or school
    • Changing friends; no longer spends time with old friends
    • Unexplained physical injuries
    • Talking about suicide
    • Depressed
    • Defying authority, both at home and at school
    • Acting aggressively
    • Lying
    • Needing money without an explanation
    • Sudden drop in grades
    • Experimenting with drugs or alcohol

    Are You Concerned About Your Child’s Reaction to:

    • Recent death of a loved one
    • Divorce/separation of parents
    • Family relocation
    • A relationship problem
    • Stress
    • Other traumatic event 

    If your child is having trouble in or out of school, we can assist.  There may be times when you just don’t know how to help your child.  That’s okay; someone else may know how to support you.

    Don’t feel embarrassed or uncomfortable about asking for help.  When it’s needed, knowing how and where to find assistance can be overwhelming.

    How Does My Child Become Involved in the Program?

    Your school’s CARES team will help you find services and assistance within the school and, if needed, the community.  We do not diagnose, treat, or refer your child for treatment.  Rather, we will provide you with information; you make the choices.  Remember, you are part of our team.  Our goal is to facilitate your child’s success in school. 

    There are a number of ways that a student might be referred for CARES intervention.  For example, any school staff member, a student’s friend or family member can let the CARES team know that they are worried about someone.  The students themselves can even go directly to the CARES team to ask for help.  

    Contacting Your School’s CARES Program

    If you feel that your child may need help, call your child’s school and ask to speak with a member of the CARES team.

     

    CARES Coordinator

    Leigh Ann Doyle

    215-944-1352

    ldoyle@crsd.org

    Psychologist:

    Tom Barnes

    215-944-1321

    tbarnes@crsd.org

    Social Worker:

    Stephanie Warshaw

    215-944-1351

    swarshaw@crsd.org

    Counselors:

    Lori Katz

    215-944-1322

    lori.katz@crsd.org

     

    Abby Rogers

    215-944-1320

    arogers@crsd.org

    Nurses:

    Teri Lavin

    215-944-1332

    tlavin@crsd.org

     

    Sherri Jokic

    215-944-1331

    sjokic@crsd.org

    Administrator Liaison:

    Nate Scott

    215-944-1306

    nscott@crsd.org