Return to Headlines


Council Rock School District is pleased to announce that thirty -five students have been recognized as part of the 2020 National Merit Scholarship Program. Over 1.5 million juniors in about 21,000 high schools entered the 2020 National Merit Scholarship Program by taking the 2018 Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test (PSAT/NMSQT®), which served as an initial screen of program entrants.

Nineteen Council Rock students have earned the “Semifinalists” title in the 2020 National Merit Scholarship Program. This prestigious distinction is given to those high school students who display outstanding performance on the PSAT/NMSQT. Of the 1.5 million eligible students, roughly 50,000 students with the highest PSAT/NMSQT qualify for recognition in the NMSP. Fewer than 16,000 students — less than one percent of all U.S. high school students — achieved the status of National Merit Semifinalist. These academically talented high school seniors have an opportunity to continue in the competition for some 7,600 National Merit Scholarships® worth more than $31 million that will be offered next spring.

Council Rock Semifinalists
Jordan Checkoff

Stephen P. Daniels
Jhanvi Dasaka
John T. Davis
Edward Fitzpatrick
Jenny X Jin
Jiewei Li
Marc I Lubman
Paul McDonnell
Kylie C. McGrath
Ayush K. Shah
Angela C. Shen
Jatin Singh
Jeremy L. Smithline
Eric A. Wang
Jessica Wang
Lianna M. Wang
Ryan S. Young
Jasmine Y. Zhang

Additionally, sixteen Council Rock students School South have earned the “Commmeded” status the 2020

National Merit Scholarship Program. In late September, more than two-thirds (about 34,000) of the approximately 50,000 high scorers on the PSAT/NMSQT® received Letters of Commendation in recognition of their outstanding academic promise. Although Commended Students do not continue in the competition for National Merit® Scholarships, some of these students do become candidates for Special Scholarships sponsored by corporations and businesses.

Council Rock Commended
Ashish Cavale

Ethan Chang
Emily D. Daly
Nikolaj Y. Folmer
Caroline M. Gallen
Brandon Gormley
Edward D. Grunde-McLaughlin
Lindsay J. Lamberti
Katherine F. McQuarrie
Sean K. Mealey
Jackson A. Meehan
Ananya Ramanatha
Eric Sohn
Amelia B. Spring
Noah E. Stein
Madeline G. Wray